Minutes of the 27th MFPI Congress Climb

HELD ON APRIL 22, 2005
The meeting started at around 4:30PM with GENESIS G. BOLAURO and ALFREDO B. PRINCIPE presiding.

The following MFPI organizations were present during the roll call:

1. ADUMS                         11. NEGROS MOUNTAINEERING CLUB
2. AMOC                          12. NWORC
3. APU-MALE                      13. PALMC
4. CAMP                          14. PINAKBET
6. EARTH ISLAND                  16. SSOC
8. HALMS                         18. UPM
10. MESAU                        20. UST

After the roll call was finished, Mr. John Fortes inquired as to the necessity of calling the clubs when it was the individuals who compose the Congress.

Genesis replied that courtesy dictates that the clubs present be acknowledged considering that it was a required information in the registration form and ID’s.

After which Genesis proceeded with the reading of the minutes of the MFPI President’s meeting held at Camotes Island, Cebu on October 21, 2005.

After the reading of the minutes, John Fortes inquired of the need to approve the minutes. When replied with an affirmative, he moved to approve the minutes which was duly seconded by the body.

Mr. Fortes then inquired as to the status of the measures agreed on during the meeting in Camotes. Genesis replied that they will be implemented in stages and that the guidelines have yet to be finalized considering that some members of the committee are still out of the country, namely, Regie Pablo and Manny Yu.

Mr. Fortes then inquired whether Mr. Yu is in communication with the rest of the officers of the MFPI. Genesis replied that he is in constant communication with Mr. Yu through email and text messages.

After which, Ruby Estillore of the Membership Committee presented the new ID design and announced the members of the Committee per Region as:

1. Ruby Estillore – Luzon

2. Michelle Montenegro – Visayas

3. Alvin “Binoe” Tabamo – Mindanao

Thereafter, Luzon-VP Alfredo Principe invited everyone to avail of the free copy of the MFPI newsletter – COMPASS, which is being distributed and proceeded to discuss the following:

1. Sierra Madre rehabilitation project – He explained the dynamics and concerns of said project. He again invited interested  Clubs/Orgs to be part of the project.  Mr. John Fortes expressed their willingness to pitch in.

2. Luzon Summit – He announced the creation of the Luzon Summit which will be hosted by Hagahag Mountaineering Club on June 9-11, 2006 in Camarines Sur. Joyce Dulce of Isarog Mountaineering Club invited everyone to join the event.

3. Sierra Madre Biodiversity Corridor – Explained the role of MFPI as a stakeholder in the said project, which is headed by Miriam P.E.A.C.E.

4. He also gave an update on the on-going Rehabilitation and Buffer Zone program in General Nakar wherein MFPI members act as a work force.

After the report of Mr. Principe, Genesis called a representative from the PALMC to address the body:

1. Mr. John Fortes took the floor and apologized on behalf of the PALMC for the behavior of Mr. Tani Wenceslao during the Congress;

2. Tani Wenceslao followed and personally apologized for his actuations which caused inconvenience to the host and the participants.

After which, Mike Luis of the host club PINAKBET, took the floor and graciously accepted their apologies. He then announced the program for the night which consist of: cultural show, free dinner and performance by a local band. He also announced the scheduled departure of the free buses the following day.

Genesis then called for the submission of the proxy forms for verification and proceeded to give the guidelines for electing the Board of Trustees, to wit:

1. Those to be elected should represent Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.

2. Only eligible regular members are allowed to vote.

3. Candidates shall be elected by the body at large.

After the guidelines was laid out, a question was posed whether those absent could be nominated. Genesis replied that this is permissible as long as the one who made the nomination could show proof that the nominee consents to the nomination.

Dom Goduco asked whether two people from the same club could be nominated. Genesis replied that there is no rule that prohibits this. Mr. Goduco then cited the case of their member, Elmer Cabotaje who was prohibited by their club after having endorsed another member, Rudy Bartolome, to run for the Board. Genesis replied that this is an inter-club matter and that the MFPI could not prevent a person from running as long as that person is eligible.

When there were no more questions raised, the table was opened for the nomination of the three Board of Trustees. Among those nominated were as follows:

1. Luzon – Rudy Bartolome of PALMC, Ely Cadang of SSOC and Elmer Cabotaje of PALMC.

2. Visayas – Eugene Abarquez of CAMP and Toto Antipaso of MPTAI

3. Mindanao – Only Deneb Edoc of AMOC was nominated.

Dom Goduco protested the nomination of Elmer Cabotaje saying that the latter is absent and thus it could not be ascertained whether he consents to the nomination. Genesis replied that he received an email from Mr. Cabotaje expressing his intention to be considered for the Board. After which Mr. Goduco expressed his objection. This was noted by Genesis but the nomination of Mr. Cabotaje was still sustained.

After the nomination, the candidates were given an opportunity to present their platform and program for the MFPI. Genesis then announced those in-charge of the election as: Yay Ortega and Ruby Estillore. He then called on for a five-minute break.

After the meeting was resumed, Genesis called for the submission of the ballots which was received by Yay Ortega and Ruby Estillore. After the table was closed, Board Member Roy Palma proceeded with the counting and tabulation of the ballots which resulted to the following winners:

1. Luzon – Rudy Bartolome

2. Visayas – Eugene Abarquez

3. Mindanao – Deneb Edoc

After the results were made known, Dodie called for the bidding of the 2007 MFPI Mid-Years President’s Meeting and 2008 Annual Congress.

Casper Bunuan of UPM presented an AVP for their hosting bid of the 2008 Annual Congress at Aurora, Quezon. When there were no other bidders, the bid of UPM was accepted.

After this proceeding, Mike Luis announced the serving of the dinner. Simultaneously, the Board of Trustees sat down and chose among themselves the officers of the MFPI for the year.

After dinner, Dodie announced the bid of Sang-at Salog Outdoor Club for the 2007 President’s meeting. When there were no other bidders, the bid of Sang-at Salug was accepted.

Roy Palma then announced the result of the BOT meeting. The Board unanimously approved a status quo in the leadership and thus, Regie Pablo was still retained as the President of the MFPI.

There being no other matters discussed, the Congress was adjourned at around 8:00PM and was followed by the Socials.

Prepared by:

Corporate Secretary


Posted on May 25, 2006, in Minutes of Meeting. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: